Project 1 Proposal

Comfort Bear

For my first project, I’d like to create something that is a mix of nostalgic and futuristic. I’m remembering the days when stuffed animals were treated like dear friends, and a source of true comfort, and I want to make that a little bit digital, and a little bit more helpful for adults.

I want to create a teddy bear that, when squeezed, sends soothing messages. I want to have a small LCD placed in the chest of the teddy, so that, when squeezed, it can roll out a series of randomized messages (“Everything is going to be okay” or “You’re doing beautifully today”).

I like that it’s a mix of childhood and adulthood. I also feel like children are typically more involved with tactile feedback, where adults get more from verbal feedback. By adding words to the classic comfort of a teddy bear, it’s a cross of those two feelings.

img_1210

Parts:

  • Arduino Uno
  • Protoboard
  • Jumper wires
  • Power supply – likely LiPo battery
  • LCD board for Arduino
  • Pressure sensor
  • 220 Ω and 10 kΩ resistors

 

 

Leave a Reply

