Lab 6: Servo Motors and PWM

Part 1:

Materials:

  • Solderless Breadboard and hookup wire
  • Arduino microcontroller module & USB connector
  • 10KΩ resistors
  • Flex sensor (or a different form of variable resistor)
  • RC Servomotor

For the first part of this lab, I had to create a circuit that would connect to the Arduino microcontroller in order to control a Servo motor.

In order to code this, I first declared my servo and my servo movement value.

I then tied the values associated with the potentiometer to values associated with the servo motor in order to make them turn.

screen-shot-2017-02-22-at-11-03-55-pm

Part 2:

Materials:

  • Solderless Breadboard and hookup wire
  • Arduino microcontroller module & USB connector
  • 100 Ω resistors
  • photocell (or a different form of variable resistor)
  • 8 Ω speaker

This part of the lab took me longer because I missed the node between the two photo resistors, and then had no voltage divide in my circuit.

After tweaking, one resistor adjusts low tones, and one adjusts high tones.

Screen Shot 2017-02-22 at 11.44.36 PM.png

Part 3: Creative Enclosure

The tones produced from hovering over the photo resistors struck me as cosmic: almost ethereal and otherworldly. My enclosure continues this idea. It’s intended to look like some kind of space instrument.

Leave a Reply

