Project 1: The Art Gallery

Project 1 is an interactive art installation/zen garden style collaborative drawing. I wanted it to be fun, lighthearted, and relaxing, and with distance between players in mind. As I was building this project, I realized that I could spend time making shapes with people I loved, even if they were miles and miles away, and because of that, I wanted to keep it simple.

It provides a collaborative space where clicks are the key. My intent was to allow creative freedom, not supersede my technical ability, or take away from the experience of doing something together with users that are not physically together. I wanted to also ensure that there was an obvious purpose for putting quirky shapes together: thus, the art gallery was born.

It started out as an outgrowth of assignment 4:

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 12.49.23 AM.png

And took on its true form as I progressed through coding it:

Screen Shot 2017-03-22 at 12.36.59 AM.png

Currently, it’s running on a forever server so it can be accessed at all times, but in case I have to shut down the server to run a new project, here’s a screencast:

The Interweb Museum of Contemporary Art can be accessed here, and my code can be found on my github repository here.

Leave a Reply

