Final Project: Playlist Picker

My proposal for this project can be found here.

My code is uploaded to my GitHub here.

My site can be reached here.

Objectives:

  • Create a survey that users can input information into concerning their current mood
  • Allow as many users as possible to access the playlist chooser
  • Compile the data of each user in order to choose a playlist based on the group’s mood as a whole
  • Have the playlist be broadcast to each individual user

Outcome:

In the end, I’ve created what I consider a personal DJ. The questions and format are cutesy and fun, which enhances it’s function: it’s a cool way to choose which kind of music would suit a group (of any size or type) without putting much individual thought into it.

Outside of the obvious music-choosing aspect of this project, I also wanted it to act as an ice breaker. The cute and seemingly pointless questionnaire style is drawn from evenings spending hours with my roommate just taking BuzzFeed quizzes out of boredom. It’s fun for us, so I thought this would be an even more fun way to interact with a group and get people feeling comfortable. Because of this, I think the silly, laid-back style questions work: it makes for a fun user experience, but leads into something more functional.

Because it’s just intended to be fun and meant to inspire real-life interaction, I wanted the look of the site to be equally as fun and encouraging to step outside of. In my mind, this meant captivating and enjoyable, but clean and simple as well. It has no pictures because I wanted it to be entirely user-focused. I want this to be a way for people to spend time together outside of the digital world and get to enjoy new music.

Now that my project is completely finished, there are some things I would like to improve on and some ways I’d like to expand in the future.

Limitations/Issues

I found a way to route to a Spotify playlist rather than a YouTube mix, which I liked a lot better not only because of the playlists Spotify already has available, but also because Spotify is a more loved and used platform. Unfortunately, it didn’t quite work out. Unless a user was already currently logged onto Spotify’s web browser, or had logged on and not logged out on that platform specifically in the past, it would just route a user to a page to download or login into Spotify, rather than just automatically starting up the playlist in a page. I ended up switching back to YouTube mixes because of this, but I feel like there has to be a workaround that will either force the Spotify app to open both on mobile and in a desktop that I could harness in the future, and some way to code so that YouTube could act as a fallback if a person didn’t have Spotify.

The second thing I’d like to change is to get the server to automatically clear the data once a playlist is picked — I realize now that unless the server is restarted, or every user reloads the page, it stores the data from previous quiz submissions, which would skew the outcome — potentially to a playlist that doesn’t actually suit user answers.

In the future, I want to create more quizzes, and have a landing page where users can pick a specific one out of the list. I realize that 5 playlists far from cover every potential users’ interests, so I want to make it more accessible for an array of tastes.

 

 

Leave a Reply

